Minimum wage increase the statewide Jan 1,2017

Dec 19, 2016

Dozens of California workplace laws take effect next year, the most prominent being a 50-cent-per-hour increase in the statewide minimum wage. Other new laws will require employers to put a unisex sign on single-toilet bathrooms, notify stalking and domestic violence victims of their leave rights, and prohibit them from asking job applicants about juvenile offenses.

Here’s a look at some of the more significant laws. All take effect Jan. 1, unless noted. For a full list, see the California Chamber of Commerce website at http://bit.ly/2gJqeYE.

Minimum wage: SB3 will increase the statewide minimum wage, currently $10 per hour. Employers with 26 or more workers must pay at least $10.50 per hour starting Jan 1. Thereafter, the minimum wage will go up in steps, reaching $15 starting Jan. 1, 2022. Smaller employers will follow the same schedule, but starting and finishing a year later.

Unlike previous minimum wage laws, this one will let the governor temporarily suspend scheduled increases based on certain economic factors and will require the director of finance — after the last scheduled increase — to adjust the minimum wage each year based on an inflation formula.Erika Frank, the chamber’s general counsel, points out that a lot of localities have minimum wage rates that are higher than the state. In those areas — San Francisco is one — employers must pay the higher rate.

Dozens of California workplace laws take effect next year, the most prominent being a 50-cent-per-hour increase in the statewide minimum wage. Other new laws will require employers to put a unisex sign on single-toilet bathrooms, notify stalking and domestic violence victims of their leave rights, and prohibit them from asking job applicants about juvenile offenses.

Here’s a look at some of the more significant laws. All take effect Jan. 1, unless noted. For a full list, see the California Chamber of Commerce website at http://bit.ly/2gJqeYE.

 

Posted in Featured Articles.