COVID 19 Stay at home orders

Dec 03, 2020


SOLVANG & SYV Business Owners
The Governor gave a press release today and defined new regions and rules to activate a State Stay Home order, which would be similar to what we experienced in March.
Unlike previous restrictions in California, the new Stay Home order focuses on five different regions in lieu of counties. The five regions are: Northern California, Greater Sacramento, Bay Area, San Joaquin Valley and Southern California. Santa Barbara County is in Southern California. Details below.
The order will go into effect when the intensive care unit capacity of a region drops below 15% (meaning, 85% of operating capacity has been reached) and will stay in place for at least three weeks. A region will have 48 hours to implement the new rules once it reaches this threshold.  
Right this second, Santa Barbara County remains open. None of the regions currently meet the threshold for the new rules, Newsom said today; however, it is expected that Southern California will meet the qualifying threshold in the next few days.

By creating regions, the Counties are presumably combined to determine an average, and then closed when it would be too dangerous for traveling between the counties that create a region. For example, if LA shuts down, as we have seen, many people will flock here to our open County, presumably bringing the virus with them.  
When the State has created a dashboard that that tracks ICU availability by region, we will send it over. 
Once the Stay Home order has been activated, wineries will be allowed to conduct production, sales, and curb-side pick up, as we did in March. We will send details when the time comes. 

Until we receive notice that our region has officially fallen below the 15% of available ICU capacity, you may operate as you have been in the Purple Tier.

Regions and their Counties:

  • Northern California: Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity
  • Bay Area: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Monterey, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma
  • Greater Sacramento: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba
  • San Joaquin Valley: Calaveras, Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, San Benito, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare, Tuolumne
  • Southern California: Imperial, Inyo, Los Angeles, Mono, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura


Posted in COVID-19 Resource, Featured Articles.